What's new

Welcome to bmioh | Welcome My Forum

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

In Praise of Leadership!


Staff member
Mar 20, 2024
Reaction score

In Praise of Leadership!​

As YOUR national association, the CWWA is a volunteer-driven organization. While we do have 4 full-time staff (Robert, Kara, Adrian and Louisa), our direction and support comes from you the members. You write the articles, attend the conferences and make the presentations. More importantly, you form the committees, review federal policies, formulate official comments, prepare position statements and guidance documents and create the conference program.

Then such a national association needs leadership and member representation. That’s where your Board of Directors comes into play. The Board determines CWWA’s “ends” or primary goals, sets policies to direct the staff and play that critical role of oversight. The board had met virtually over the past few years, but were able to meet in person in Halifax and re-initate deep strategic discussions for the future of CWWA.

Members of the board represent every province and territory and each of the six regional associations – that makes for a large board that needs a leader. We have been overly-blessed with outstanding leadership over our 35 plus years.

Normally, we get to praise these leaders each year at the National Conference as their term of office ends but, like so many things, Covid-19 put a pause on all of that. We were fortunate to have our last three Presidents at the conference in Halifax. Clayton Tiedemann of EPCOR (2020), Rodney Bouchard of Union Water (2021) qnd David Main of AECOM (2022) led the CWWA through the challenges of the pandemic. They were all called to the stage to be recognized…and to congratulate our newest President, Vicki Campbell of EPCOR.

We also got to thank Greg Archibald of Pembina Valley for four years as CWWA’s Secretary-Treasurer. That role is now performed by Richard MacEwen of Charlottetown. A list of the current board for 2023 can be seen below. We have a run-off election to be held to select the next member for Alberta and Réseau Environnement is seeking a new liaison for us.

On behalf of the staff and all the members, I want to reiterate that praise for all the members of the board, but especially the Presidents and thank you for your leadership.


Past Presidents Clayton Tiedemann (2020), Rodney Bouchard (2021) and David Main (2022) with newly elected President Vicki Campbell (2023) being recognized at NWWC2022 in Halifax.

CWWA Board of Directors 2022/2023

YK rep – Arcadio Rodriguez, Whitehorse
NWT rep – Chris Greencorn, Yellowknife
NU rep – Megan Lusty, Gov’t of Nunavut
BC rep – Jennifer Crosby, MetroVancouver
AB rep – election pending
SK rep – Ryan Johnson, Buffalo Pound 2nd VP
MB rep – Renée Grosselle, Winnipeg
ON rep – Terry Bender, OCWA
ON rep – Rodney Bouchard, Union Water
QC rep – Jean Lamarre, Montreal
NB rep – Nicole Taylor, Moncton
NS rep – Jesse Hulsman, East Hants 1st VP
PEI rep – Richard MacEwen, Charlottetown Sec-Tres
NL rep – Tom Mihajlovic, Labrador City
BCWWA rep – David Main, AECOM
WCW rep – Vicki Campbell, EPCOR President
OWWA rep – Jaime Boutilier, CIMA+
WEAO rep – John Presta, Durham Region
Réseau rep – to be namedq
ACWWA rep – Mike Abbott, CBCL
Member-at-large – William Fernandes, Toronto

The post In Praise of Leadership! appeared first on Canadian Water and Wastewater Association.
Top Bottom